Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
520 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I believe 2008-2010 zx10 and zx6rr .. They both have higher spring rate and offer both preload and dampening adjustments,
The 6rr is same size, the zx10 adds 8mm length, raises back 10mm, gives 10mm more drainplug clearance and slight wheelbase decrease.

Im no expert but this is the basic changes... I believe all of them require rear holes to be drilled out from 10mm to 12mm if you dont get bushings/new hardware.

And 1/4" trim of the plastic tray under seat if you face canister up awY from engine heat.

(Edited after information acquired)

·
Registered
1,802 Posts
05 or 06 and you don't want the 6R. You want the 6RR.

6R is totally different from the 6RR. 6RR is a triple clicker high performance shock.

I have a 6RR on my FZ. It performs as well as the Penske and Racetech high end shocks. I have ridden FZ-09's with both of these shocks and you would be hard pressed to see very much difference.

If you can find a 6RR (they are getting hard to find) send it to Traxxion Dynamics for a overhaul and re-valve. They did mine and it turned out great.

The stock valving is way too aggressive for the FZ. My riding weight is round 180 and they had to reduce the compression damping by 50% and install a softer spring.

You can try running it stock but unless you weigh 250 pounds you will find it waaaaaaaaaaaaay too stiff.

Good luck.

·
Registered
3,079 Posts
What spring are you using? I'm just curious... The 9.4 kg/mm work the best for me on the ZX-10 shock. We are the same weight.

·
Registered
1,802 Posts
What spring are you using? I'm just curious... The 9.4 kg/mm work the best for me on the ZX-10 shock. We are the same weight.
I think Dan said they installed a 550 lb spring.

With the stock spring 600 lb? and the stock valving when you hit a square edged bump at speed it felt like it would break my back.

It is still pretty firm at speed but nothing like before.

·