Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
2016 xsr 900
1,183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Warning - lots of words ahead - added some photos, click here to skip down to the pictures - there was a photographer present on the track from '4thriders.com' for the duration of the class.

I attended the YCRS Champ Street class last weekend on Sunday afternoon at Sonoma Raceway. I've been thinking about the experience and I think I'm ready to summarize my thoughts.

First off a little background. I think its important to have a good understanding of where I'm starting from. I have 13 years of riding experience. I started riding with my wife and we both attended the MSF basic rider course before getting our first bike. About 3 years of 'urban' commuting in a moderately large city. Lots of mountain roads, touring, and commuting in rural areas too. A few group rides. I've ridden cruisers, 70's UJMs, and now my XSR. For most of that time the odometer on my XS1100 didn't work, but based on tire & brake changes I'd guess I have ridden somewhere in the range of 75-100k miles. I've riden about 12k miles in since february of last year on my XSR 900. I'm a firm believer in continuing education and improving my safety on the bike by improving my skills. I own several riding skills books, and try to practice some of those skills on my own on a regular basis. Until I purchase by XSR I had never attended any formal instruction except of that MSF course way back in the beginning. Last year I attended both the MSF Advanced Rider Course and also the Total Control Advanced Rider Course #1. I like to believe I'm pretty good at self assessment and being honest with my self on what skills need improvement.

On to the class.....
My class included a mix of individuals & bikes: