Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Guys could you please share your experience with wind fatigue while riding different types of motrocycles. Will riding Super Sport really cause that much less wind fatigue compared to naked bike? Commuting 60 miles (freeway) each way, will switching from naked bike to super sport help? By getting windscreen and protaper handle bar which will give more sporty position on Fz make a significant difference with wind fatigue and can it be compared to Supersport with the above mentioned mods. Thanks in advance for sharing your thoughts. Appreciate it.

·
Banned
3,470 Posts
I've got no experience with SS, but on windy days it's obvious I'm exhausted after being blown for an hour or two.

I've got the Puig Sport Screen made for the FZ09 and on a windy day it's not enough, however on a windy day nothing IMHO is going to make much of a difference. The day-to-day look of the bike is more important to me than planning for that really windy day.

Hope this helps.

Reactions: 3rdgear

·
Registered
3,079 Posts
I have my FZ6R set up as S/T bike. Puig touring screen, Renthal 787 handlebars (similar position as FZ09) and the whole cases set up. The wind blast on the FZ09 is more noticeable for sure, even with my little FZ1N Puig screen but the air is very laminar, no buffering. On the FZ6R the air goes over the helmet for the most part but all depend witch way the wind blows or if I follow a car, I get some helmet buffering.

So it all depend on what you can handle the best. For me the FZ6R is more comfy for long flat slab miles. Engine is very smooth and I can carry stuff to go ride for a whole week... or more. I can handle the FZ09 on freeway too (Did 900 miles in 14 hrs strait last summer) but this is not why I got this bike.

·
Registered
464 Posts