Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Banned
3,470 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've been looking for a low cost companion for my Overly energized FZ and have two schools of thought:

First, I thought it might be fun to have a very low mileage (under $500) 2013 CBR250 or TU250 to go out occasionally and abuse (ride it to its limit and beyond) since I'm not experienced enough to really abuse the FZ -- the FZ-09's got more spunk than I do at this stage of my life....Kind of reminds me of what I was like twenty five years ago.... The used 250cc runs about 3200 OTD.

The second bike is a 2011 Ninja 1000 (5200 miles) with pipes, $8000 OTD -- the Sport Touring bike for longer distance highway riding.....

Don't misunderstand; I've got the FZ-09 running through my veins, but sometimes ya just want to saddle up another ride.....and I know for a Fact that my FZ-09 gets lonely sleeping alone.....

Is Bigger always better......??? Finances aren't a factor on this choice.

Your opinion counts.....!!!

Thanking you guys in advance.

Steve101

PS I am Not a very experienced rider, but can hold my own:cool:

Reactions: redeye

·
Registered
1,242 Posts
This is really subjective.

If you have a real desire to do some long-distance touring, then the Ninja is the way to go.

If you just want something you can ride the piss out of without getting into too much trouble, then the CBR250 is the one.

...and no, bigger is not better.

Personally, I would love to be able to go buy a GROM & ride around and terrorize the city on it 4.gif

·
Banned
3,470 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)

·
Registered
957 Posts
Given your relative inexperience I think a smaller bike would be the way to go, something to hone your skills on and start practicing the things that you can't on the FZ because the power scares the bejeezes out of you.

·
Registered
1,413 Posts