Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Forgive me for being a complete newbie, but I'm in the market for buying a 2021(2022) MT-09, but does Yamaha typically release 2022 models toward the end of 2021 (like cars typically do)?

Obviously, I'd prefer a 2022 for resale value, just wondering if anyone's heard of when the new year will hit the dealer stocks. Haven't seen any 2022 availability anywhere. Thanks!

·
Registered
2021 Yamaha MT-09 SP
35 Posts
no word yet on the 22 year models (that I am aware of). I highly doubt they'll make any changes to the 09 and 07 but we may see updated XSR's. Haven't heard anything to confirm that, however.

·
Registered
57 Posts
In April, 2021, Yamaha Motor Europe CEO, Eric de Seynes, made a a public apology to dealers and customers regarding product delays.

2021 is in the area of uncharted waters - the world of manufacturing has never been in this place before so it's impossible to predict what will happen (especially not based on experience from prior years). Chip manufacturers are forecasting delivery backorders into 2023. Meanwhile, Yamaha hasn't been able to fill all their new bike orders for 2021 yet (my local dealer has a MT-09 SP order still unfilled from May - six months ago). My own 2021 MT-09 shows a manufacture date of Nov 2020 but it didn't arrive to a dealer showroom until Oct 2021 (11-months later). It seems to me that, unless Yamaha is planning tweaks to the 2022 models, they could just start calling any bike not yet delivered overseas a "2022" model. But depending on how they register new VIN numbers with national governments and the insurance industry, they might have to continue delivering "2021" models for many months to come.

·
Registered
428 Posts
In April, 2021, Yamaha Motor Europe CEO, Eric de Seynes, made a a public apology to dealers and customers regarding product delays.