Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello fellow members,

I wanted to see those of you who owns the FZ09, what level or skils you got, do you consider your self a newbie, intermediate or skilled professional rider. The reason I'm asking is because I see every one here on the forum talks about how this bike loves to wheelie which I know it does, but for the unskilled rider that wheelie could turn into trouble. So do you do power wheelies just for your own joy or does it pop on you unintended? Or do you clutch wheels.
How long have you been riding before you got this bike. Did all of you owners done track days and what's your skill level.

I'll start by saying I'm not a pro nor a newbie, I would say I'm an intermediate rider that knows his riding skills and don't try to push my limits further because I'm scared of that. I've had this bike after having 3 others, gsxr750 and 1000 and a CBR 954 and then the Yamaha. So I've ridden a lot faster bikes and was never confident enough to take canyon turns the way others do or pop wheelies and be comfortable

what's the best way to build skills of riding to be able to control the Fz09 in full capability, the more you ride the more skills you gain, or push your limits or go to track?

Looking for advise and experiences and tips from the vets in here.

·
Registered
2,155 Posts
From your post and your previous bikes....I know you have learned bad riding habits that prevent you from taking any additional risk. To fix that you would need one on one training like at an advanced track day. The Pros will show you how to fix the bad habits and advise you about bike setup. Those things will provide confidence and allow you to aquire better skills.

·
Registered
511 Posts