Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 125 Posts

·
Registered
1,181 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Basically, I'm starting this thread to find out what I don't know and should in terms of bringing the bike home. Remember, I'm a motorcycle noob... If you would please post your opinion and any suggestions about any/all of these topics, I think it would be quite helpful.

EDIT: I'm putting folks different answers under each one to keep it all in one post, and to help folks out in the future. Also, it'll prevent repeats.

So, here's a list of things I am aware of:

chewymilk98: Check these things (where appropriate) before you even leave the dealer.
Alley Oop: Check for scratches/dents and any other indicator of riding done on the bike when you first see the bike. Also, bring all your best riding gear: riding suit/jacket, helmet, boots, and gloves. Don't let yourself be rushed through the buying process, carefully read everything you're given.

1. Chain: I've read about checking the chain tightness. How does one do this? Is it a matter of feel or visual inspection? How does one adjust it?

rabbitman09: see the very next post below, triplethreats warning: DO NOT USE THE SPECIFICATIONS from those images, though, as they are designed for another bike.

2. Frame/Spool/Engine sliders I am going to do sliders. However, I've seen different terms here, I know spools are for a rear stand, and sliders are in case you lay it down. Is there a difference between engine and frame sliders?

Trey Yama: Pit Bull Motorcycle Stands & Accessories: Rear Stands - don't forget blue locktite
Making a Front-End Stand