Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys, Just bought my first FZ today and I'm pretty excited about it! I have been riding all off-road for the last 15 years or so and finally decided to pick up my first street bike. What are your guys feelings on trying a set of trail attacks on the FZ? I will be using it for mostly street riding but to like to every once and while hit a gravel/dirt road while out on a ride. When I look at the tread pattern it still looks like it would provide great grip on the street and just enough for some light dirt riding.The FZ has pretty good ground clearance, up right seating, and the suspension seems pretty soft which would be ideal. Anyone else thought of this?

Ross

·
Registered
18 Posts
Hey Ross, I'm actually planning on putting a set of pirelli scorpion trail tires on my FZ for exactly this reason. I live on a gravel road but do 80-90% of my riding on pavement. I put a Set of scorpion syncs on my last SV and they were worlds better then the stock Dunlops.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Haha! I was wondering about that. Thanks for the heads up dangerous. Did you use B mode for break in? And did you break in hard or easy?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the ideas guys. Can anyone else suggest a better tire for a naked bike that can handle gravel/dirt better? It seems the trail attacks get pretty good reviews.

·
Registered
1,169 Posts