Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Super Moderator
5,700 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As most of you probably know by now, I am an Instructor with Sportbike Track Time in the Southern Region. This weekend, I took the weekend off from Instructing and decided to just go for one day and ride. I ended up taking my dedicated track bike ('07 600RR), as well as the FZ 09. Saturday morning started out pretty chilly (32 degrees) at 7:00AM when we normally arrive at the track, so I decided to ride the track bike instead of the FZ during the morning sessions, giving the temps a chance to come up before I took the FZ out on the track (no wind protection on the FZ). Lunch break is from noon till 1:00PM and by then, the temps were approaching the 70 degree mark and I decided to take the FZ out and do some laps. If you all remember, I switched out the tires to the Dunlop Q3's, right after buying the bike, and, I've never ridden on the Q3's before, so the first session or so, was getting acclimated to the FZ on the track, versus riding the 600RR.........big difference for sure. I also wanted to take it kind of easy during that session because of unfamiliarity of the new tires and not 100% sure of the pressures that I should be running on a 70 degree day with basically a pretty cold track surface.