Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

Need some advice on wether to go for FZ-09 or left over FZ-08.

About me, I am 5'3" tall weighing 160 lbs. So needs a lot of lowering to do. I am looking for a bike not just for a weekend ride, but a weekday commuter with 20 miles one way in the busy NYC highways/parkways.

I will be getting my Liscence last week. But this I am no first timer. But would be first time in US.

I am from India, been in US for the past 8 yrs. I started riding bikes since I was 16.
My First was an Yamaha RX-100, which I bought in 1996 and was riding until 2002 and crashed it hard.
Then I moved to 'Royal Enfield' Bullet-350 a thumper and was riding until 2006, when I moved to US. Later in 2009 I had to go back to India for 8 months and was riding a 'Bajaj Pulsar 220' through the streets of Mumbai and later Chennai.

So I am not a total newbie. But I am not looking for a machine to do track timings either.

Last weekend visited a local dealer, who unfortunately had no FZ-09 on display had FZ-08 left-over.

Price quoted for 2013 FZ-08 was 6499 + Prep charges (350). so $6850 Plus taxes and tags. For FZ-09 it was $7650 Plus taxes and tags

I always loved the sound of a 4 Pot motor - after the demise of 2-strokers.Thats why never wanted to have a glance at SV650 or Versys.But I can compromise between FZ-08 & FZ-09 on the exhaust note.

Regards
TUsker

·
Registered
73 Posts
That's kind off where I was last June, so I think I might be able to shed some light onto your situation. The FZ08 is going to comparable to FZ09 in many ways, really the biggest difference is in power delivery. The Fz9 is going to be harder to manage because of its twitchy throttle response and instant torque and power delivery. The fz9 is much lighter though, and easier to maneuver in slow speed.