Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I finally took my FZ-09 out to Palomar Mountain, and I quickly realized that the review were right: the suspension needs some work!
The bike did not feel like it was planted on the ground, and every crack in the corners made me think the bike was going to hop off it's line.

Unfortunately I don't know much about suspension work, so I was hoping that you guys could help me out.
I absolutely love this bike, and I am willing to invest some money in this, but I can't go too crazy.

About me: I'm a 160 pound rider, I've been riding for 9 years, and while I don't do track days I do love aggressive street riding.

What should I do?

1) Just tighten up the stock suspension.

I'm a light weight rider, but from what I have read I don't think this will be enough. :(

2) Replace the rear shock...

2A) ...just swap out the Penske Shock Spring?

Would just swapping out the spring be enough? (This would be a very cheap solution.)
Penske Shock Spring (Hyperco) from Stoltec

2B) ...with a Penske 8900E shock.

Everyone knows and loves this shock, and I think it would be enough for me without the clickers.
FZ-09 Penske 8900E Single Adjustable from Stoltec

3) Replace the front fork springs.

Being light weight, I am not sure that I need to change out the front springs, what do you guys think?
FZ-09 Linear Rate Fork Springs from Stoltec

4) Other?

Are there other options that I am not considering?​

I am thinking about starting with 2B...but what do you guys think?

Thanks,
Tom

·
Registered
165 Posts
The spring is about the only decent part of the rear shock; the issue is that there is very little damping. At your weight it might just be ok adjusting the rebound. Try it, it's free.

·
Registered
3,079 Posts