Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I did a search and have yet to see it. So if it's been discussed just throw me a link....

I saw on the "maintenance list" it showed brake and clutch lever compatibility, but has anyone messes with or found out what bikes from which sprockets will fit on the FZ09? I'm wondering as most companies still don't carry FZ09 specific sprockets yet, and those that do, other similar bikes (FZ1, FZ6, etc) are cheaper. So I'm wondering if any sprockets off another bike will fit. Thanks in advance!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well like on Sprocket Center you can build a full kit and they automatically adjust for chain length depending on your sprocket setup but I don't think they have an option for the FZ-09 yet, so I didn't know if I could say just order FZ1 sprockets and be okay.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,079 Posts
Well like on Sprocket Center you can build a full kit and they automatically adjust for chain length depending on your sprocket setup but I don't think they have an option for the FZ-09 yet, so I didn't know if I could say just order FZ1 sprockets and be okay.
Take a sharpy and count the links on the chain. I'll check the manual...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,444 Posts
There are conversion kits available to convert from the stock 525 to a 520 chain.
Aftermarket Performance Parts and Accessories for Yamaha FZ-09 / MT-09 2013, 2014, 2015 | Motostarz USA | Motostarz.com

And 525 kits as well
FZ-09 2014 - Yamaha - STREET Sprockets & Kits

Personally I'd stick with the 525, as my DR650SE comes stock with a 525 as well. And from what I have read on my DR info. searches the 525 size chain and sprockets are becoming more common in North America. If you are travelling the world, then the 520 is easier to find over the 525.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
112 Posts
There are conversion kits available to convert from the stock 525 to a 520 chain.
Aftermarket Performance Parts and Accessories for Yamaha FZ-09 / MT-09 2013, 2014, 2015 | Motostarz USA | Motostarz.com

And 525 kits as well
FZ-09 2014 - Yamaha - STREET Sprockets & Kits

Personally I'd stick with the 525, as my DR650SE comes stock with a 525 as well. And from what I have read on my DR info. searches the 525 size chain and sprockets are becoming more common in North America. If you are travelling the world, then the 520 is easier to find over the 525.
Bookmarking for next spring!!!!

Getting my ECU reflashed over the winter, then wanted to get new sprockets in the spring so this is PERFECT. And at only ~$200, it's not bad at all!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,330 Posts
The bolt circle for the rear sprocket is the same as the FZ1, I had a FZ1 cush drive and verified the FZ09 sprocket bolts right up the FZ1 cush drive.

However the FZ1 is 530 chain and the FZ09 is 525 so a FZ1 sprocket will not work.

I ordered my rear sprockets from Sprocket Specialists and they custom made them, last November. I told them "same bolt pattern and center circle as the FZ1 and 525 and 43 and 42 teeth"

I got my sprockets for about $80 each in about a week.

I have not swapped out the front sprocket yet and have no plans to do so, so I have no idea about cross compatibility there. I suspect it will likely be the same diameter and teeth# on the countershaft as the R6/R1/FZ1 (and probably others) but again a 525 chain instead of the more common 520 and 530 chain sizes.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
112 Posts
I got my 15T and it was tag FZ8. Make sure you have the right chain size... cant remember.
Marthy, how do you like your 15T? I'm thinking about going 15/47 (should be -1/+2, right?) as I just love acceleration! (I usually cruise in 4th anyway, so the higher engine RPMs won't bother me that much, I'll just go to 5th.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
So, factory sprockets are 16/45 the?
Yes

And I've replaced chains and sprockets on my old Ninja but never messed with much else, so I guess my lack of knowledge leaves me wondering why the hell you can't use FZ1 sprockets if they do fit?!

The 525/530 runs off valley size of the sprockets correct? Soooooo if you use both front and rear FZ1 sprockets, just buy a 530 chain and you're golden. Or does it not work like that?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
290 Posts
I believe that is how the 520 kits that are already out there are working. Not sure why the larger 530 kit is not being offered unless that is too big. We know the FZ1 rear sprocket bolt pattern is the same as the FZ-09, but haven't seen any counter sprockets yet; 525 or 530 pitch.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,330 Posts
Yes

And I've replaced chains and sprockets on my old Ninja but never messed with much else, so I guess my lack of knowledge leaves me wondering why the hell you can't use FZ1 sprockets if they do fit?!

The 525/530 runs off valley size of the sprockets correct? Soooooo if you use both front and rear FZ1 sprockets, just buy a 530 chain and you're golden. Or does it not work like that?
Chain sizes explained:

D.I.D. Racing Chains & DirtStar® Rims
# pin to pin Width Roller Diameter is the same for 520/525/530
520 5/8" 1/4"
525 5/8" 5/16"
530 5/8" 3/8"

You could use a 530 chain and sprockets but it would be heavier than 525.

You could use a 520 chain and sprockets but the chain would be weaker than 525.

You can use 520 sprockets with a 525 or 530 chain but it will wear both the chain and the sprockets unevenly since the chain can shift side to side on the sprocket.
 
  • Like
Reactions: shamrock and marthy

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·
Well I never do just one sprocket. So I don't see why a full FZ1 setup wouldn't work. Just means I won't break it as easy haha. Minimum I'll do is -1/+2
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,330 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
730 Posts
Extra weight.... both unsprung and weight the engine has to accelerate.
 
1 - 20 of 28 Posts
Top