Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
Yamaha XSR 900
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all!

The clutch on my 2018 XSR900 has noticeably less bite than it did a couple months ago. It's not slipping yet, but I want to get a good idea of what kind of work will need to be done once it does go. As far as I know, my model year has a slipper clutch standard; what does this mean? Can I work on it as I would any other clutch, or is it different? I did already find the part number (B90-W001G) I'd need for my bike.

First bike, so I don't have a lot of experience with bike clutches, and I haven't been able to find any walkthrough's on this forum. Is there anything I should know, or is it as simple as getting in there and figuring it out?

·
Registered
226 Posts
First let me say that I'm not a clutch expert or have a lot of experience with it.
If you look at videos online about the slipper clutch, it's not something that wears out as fast as a clutch.
It's supposed to release the clutch pressure if the bike is still moving and you're not pulling the clutch lever. [Somewhat similar to ABS]
Try searching for MT 09 clutch replacement instead. They're very similar.
Good luck

·
Registered
3,259 Posts
That kit looks to be the right one for your bike. I would get a service manual for the bike because there is a difference in some of the fibers and they must go in a certain way..with-out the manual you will not be able to put it back the right way . Why so early on a clutch ? lots of clutch-up wheelies ? If so check out the basket for breakage.. I have a 2015 FZ09 with 56,000 miles and still on the factory clutch and still going strong.

·
Registered
Yamaha XSR 900
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Why so early on a clutch ? lots of clutch-up wheelies ?
Define lots haha. I've been trying to clutch up here and there but definitely not a daily thing.

I have a 2015 FZ09 with 56,000 miles and still on the factory clutch and still going strong.