Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am no mechanic by any means so I am turning to you guys for help on this one. I spotted what looks like rust to me on my rear brakes. Below are two pictures. I have had the bike only 3 months. 1200 miles. Garage kept. only ridden in the rain maybe 3 times. Is this rust? Is it normal? If not, what can I do for it? WD-40? Thanks for any help guys. FZ09 Rust.jpg fz09 rust 3.jpg

Attachments

·
Registered
438 Posts
I have that too. I didn't think it was rust though. I thought it was just the normal color. I'm at 800 miles and garage kept, never been in the rain and i didn't look at it when new so i figured it came that color.

·
Registered
1,242 Posts
Not seeing anything... are you talking about the copper colored metal backing plates for the pads?

·
Registered
2,330 Posts
The brake pads get very hot and the backing plates are usually copper, or gold, or black in color.

Ride more and worry less.

·
Registered
1,413 Posts
Wow. Lol

Reactions: Travis

·
Registered
2,389 Posts
Do NOT put WD40 anywhere near your brake pads/rotors! And no, that's not rust.
it's only the rear brake, what could go wrong??

I know someone who did it once when he was 14 or so and stupid on a dirt bike to get ride of that slight noise that disc brakes make. The WD40 got rid of the noise, and all braking capabilities. He went through a barb wire fence.

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Thank you to those who answered the question and thank you to those who made me feel like an idiot. Nothing like getting laughed at when you ask a question to make you feel welcome.

·
Registered
1,312 Posts