Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1,628 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We should stop talking about riding technique and tips on the forum. There seems to be as much (dangerous) misinformation as there is good information.

I was just reading through yet another sidetracked thread that ended in some riding technique tips. I'm no expert, but I do have a wide breadth of experience, and everybody has their own riding style and what works for them. But when people start saying "No, you HAVE to lean like this" or "Front brake = death!" or whatever, it doesn't do anybody any good. It would seem simple to just say that new riders should take a proper rider course from a professional organization but even more experienced riders here seem to have very bad habits. I know I'm in that list too (guilty of using the handlebars too much when moving around on the bike).

:happy1:

·
Registered
657 Posts
The best riding tips I've read are in a book, not on a forum.

Nothing beats real life practical training/coaching. I once spent a day with an experienced racer (at a track day). I came out of that day with much more confidence and ability.

Thinking about that, I should probably update my training. Dave - you want to coach me? :D

·
Registered
115 Posts
absolutely agree. Back in the early 90's I applied to become a motorcycle instructor, and we had to take a 10 week course. I was 21 at the time, but had 5 years of street riding and 6 years of racing motocross by that point. I was the youngest person in the class of 100 of us taking the course. Anyways, long story short, the last couple weeks were in the parking lot, and one of the final tests was we all had to ride through the test. Over 60 people failed it, many with many more years of experience than I had. In the end only 6 of us were hired on.