Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
957 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I posted an initial introductory thread back in October/November sometime when I was debating between the Triumph Street Triple R, KTM Duke 690, and Yamaha FZ-09. Now that I've actually went and bought my new Blazing Orange FZ-09, I figured I'd make a new thread rather than update the old one.

Hi! My name is Sean, I'm 33, and I live in Pittsburgh, PA. I started riding a motorcycle back in 2008, shortly before my 28th birthday. My first bike was a 2000 Suzuki SV650. At the time, I was obese at 335-340 lbs. I struggled with many of the basic drills as a result of a combination of my weight and the fact that I have a neurological dysfunction which impedes basic motor control, to a degree (it is a component of autism spectrum disorders found in people with hypersensitivity/hyperactive senses). After putting the bike away for winter at the end of 2008, I made a decision that if I wanted to do this, I had to lose weight. This picture was taken of me and my first bike on the 4th of July in 2009. At the time it was taken, I had already lost about 15-20 lbs.

I loved a lot of things about the bike, but even after my weight loss (a total of 135 lbs down, getting down to an even 200), I found the suspension to be woefully inadequate for anything other than commuting to and from work on it, and even that was iffy. I sold it in May of 2013 because I just wasn't willing to invest in the mods needed to bring the suspension up to spec. What I got to replace it was this thing: