Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello all. I finally got my act together and recently installed some ss brake lines and new pads for the front and rear on my 2014 fz09. I'm new to this and pretty much followed along forum posts from here and some youtube videos. Front brakes are great and a huge improvement. However, rear brake feels really weak. I can just about bottom out the pedal and really never feel much bite. I can see the caliper moving around upon applying brake but it doesn't seem to really do much past that. If using only rear brake, takes a good while longer to stop than before. There are no visible leaks. I've bled/evac/filled twice with no change. I took out the pads as well and pumped the brakes to clean the piston but everything looks good. Any thoughts? I was expecting to need to use less foot pressure similar to the front with the new lines. Was this the wrong expectation or this there another adjustment to be made? I greatly appreciate the help.

I've attached a photo of with and without brake applied. 20170507_131207.jpg 20170507_131228.jpg

·
Registered
1,975 Posts
I would say your problem is air in the brake line. Doesn't take much. Did you bleed them by using a mini-vac tool? Were you careful not to allow the reservoir to run dry during the bleed process?

If you don't have the mini-vac tool, first ensure the reservoir is full, then pump the rear pedal several times quickly....then while holding it down slightly open the bleeder valve...allow any air to escape and re-close while keeping the pedal depressed. Do not allow the pedal to travel up while bleeder valve is open. Use a capture hose on the bleed nipple and get a helper if possible.

Your photos of the piston travel are very similar to my bike.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·