Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
‘14 FZ-09 ‘08 FZ6
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys, I’m new to the FZ09, picked up a 2014 and got in one ride before winter (until I noticed the front axle mount was cracked!) I’ve taken her down to the studs now. I’m going to post my progress here.

Valve adjustment, AIS delete, Ape cam tensioner and slipper clutch install are now completed.

·
Registered
‘14 FZ-09 ‘08 FZ6
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
More progress today.
Installed new plugs (CPR9EAIX-9), rad flush, headlight with LED bulbs & Proton 500 signals (thanks to TripageLED for helping me with the programming). Stock bars back on complete with 2020 MT09 clutch cable (with the nice bend built into it), G2 ergos quickturn throttle tube and Koso Apollo heated grips.

Connected the tank for a test start and sounds great, so moving on!

·
Registered
‘14 FZ-09 ‘08 FZ6
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
You will love the Koso's, I have not regretted the purchase or installation for a minute.
Right on! I’m looking forward to them, the start and end of my riding season in Canada has always left me with frozen fingers. 🥶 I tested them out and they got damn warm on the highest setting.😈👍

·
Registered
759 Posts
I rarely use mine above the 3rd setting and I have been riding into the low 40's. At that temp, the wind has made the call on the 3rd or 4th setting. And at point, my feet are starting to get cold.

·
Registered
257 Posts
How did your “overhaul” the calipers? Did you get new piston seals or something? Also, I love your security bleeder 😂

always wanted to “overhaul” (rebuild my master cylinder but the bleed process for the system is such a PITA

Reactions: E-Wolf

·
Registered
‘14 FZ-09 ‘08 FZ6
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #9 (Edited)
How did your “overhaul” the calipers? Did you get new piston seals or something? Also, I love your security bleeder 😂