Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3,008 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m not a brake expert, I did fit a race style Nissin master cylinder to my SV650 years ago but this is my first radial. If I say something wrong or need to add info let me know and I’ll edit my posts. If you have experience with putting a radial master cylinder on your 09 please post it.

I did some messy thrashing around picking a radial master cylinder for my 09, in the end I went for a R1 MC. After market levers are generally sold in pairs (like Mad Hornets), I wanted to try shorties, and the R1/R6 clutch levers are compatible with the 09.

I’m not great at finding/picking used stuff, an eBay search for R1/R6 master cylinders found lots of items but it seemed to me they were overpriced for the condition and degree of completeness.

PartShark.com - R6 master cylinder
The discount price for a new R6 master cylinder without a reservoir, lever, brackets etc is $157.39.

PartShark.com - R1 master cylinder
The same thing for the R1 is $83.87. Wow! They look the same in the parts diagram and I can’t believe the R6 uses a master cylinder that much better than the one for the R1. They use different levers but Nick of Stoltec spotted that they use the same piston rebuild kit, so the bore size is the same, 16mm. My guess is the Yamaha bean counters have trouble being consistent and logical in setting parts prices. So from Partshark.com I ordered a R1 MC and the lever pivot bolt. I didn’t add up all the costs of getting every new Yamaha part from the lever to reservoir cap, wouldn’t be cheap. Some odds and ends I already had, or made, ordered Mad Hornet levers and a cheap generic reservoir assembly.

Mad Hornets Yamaha levers