Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I'm pretty new to all this. I purchased the T-Rex frame slider set and the Evotech radiator guard.

The T-Rex sliders indicate you should use thread locker on all the bolts. I wanted to confirm that the engine case covers (stator and clutch) should also receive thread locker as they go into the engine where it sounds like oil will come out during the installation. It doesn't sound like a good idea to put thread lock there, is it?

Also, while we're talking about thread lock, should I put it on the bolts of the radiator guard?

Finally, where can I find torque ratings for these add-ons? The radiator guard does not mention what to torque the bolts down to. The T-Rex sliders give general guidelines, but I'd like to be confident in the torques I use on the engine covers as well as the front and rear axle sliders. I'd normally not touch the axles and don't want the wheels coming off! Can anyone point me to where I can find this info. or share it with me if you already have it, please?

Thank you for the help!

·
Registered
311 Posts
I don't have t-rex sliders, but I mounted my frame sliders on the bolt right by the rad, torqued it to 33ft-lbs, and haven't had any issues.

·
Registered
213 Posts