Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
1,253 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Okay, so I appreciate you guys offering your opinions since you know much more than I do about this stuff.

I ride with a group that will ride about 100 miles at a time. Since I am a teacher, I only have two more weeks at school and then have summer off (why I'm no longer a lawyer, but that's another story). Anyway, I'm planning on riding and want to make sure that I'm as safe as possible with the gear. I'm going to take BRC2 and ARC as soon as possible but am wondering about the safest stuff to wear.

The race guys wear full leathers, so I'm assuming that's the safest. I already have a Shoei FF helmet and TCX RS-2 race boots. My idea of full leathers now is a pair of chaps that I wear with Kevlar jeans and a Schott motorcycle jacket. I also have a bunch of other riding stuff, like a Tourmaster winter jacket and an Icon jacket and winter pants, that I don't think will help too much if I were to have a get off.

Is a motorcycle jacket and chaps as safe as race leathers, or should I really go out and get the race leathers?

As a woman, there aren't tons of options, but the good thing is, I'm lucky enough that I will only look as ridiculous as the women in the pictures wearing the gear. Dionese has a two piece set and so does SIDI. I would rather not spend 1k+ on leathers, but if they are safer than what I am currently doing, then I will.

How much impact protection is there with the leather track stuff? I have Bohn pants and a Leatt 3DF armored shirt, but I don't think that this will fit under the leathers.

Anyway, what do you guys think of the following? I do ride with mostly a Harley crew, so I'd like to reduce the ridiculousness, but that's also not the top priority.

Clothing Sportswear Tights Jacket Standing
Clothing Cycling shorts Sportswear Sleeve Leg Clothing Personal protective equipment Sportswear Outerwear Sleeve