Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've read the threads on here with many posts about how this bike isn't a beginner's bike, so I'm curious, what are you guys considering a "beginner" ? Someone learning how a motorcycle's clutch works? Someone that's only ridden the dirt but not the street? Or am I still a beginner:

I've been riding a TW200 for 8 months now. Purchased it brand new and have already put 2500 miles on it, maybe 400 of it on dirt. I bought it to commute to work, 40 mile round trip into big city Little Rock, and explore trails. I'm a professional driver for a delivery company, where I have to be extremely cautious and aware of all the crazies on the road. I'm really glad I got my bike after I started driving professionally, I somewhat had already trained my brain to "drive like no one can see me." I'm also glad I bought my first bike brand new because it forced me to take it easy through the break-in period and really learn how to operate the bike. Even on my little 200cc I never went to full throttle until I hit 1000 miles.

Anyways, the performance of the FZ-09 really attracts me to it, and the price hooks me. Though I have considered getting an R6, would it be easier since it has less torque than the 09? Or would getting a new 09 force me to again take it easy through the break-in period, and letting me learn how to handle the bike before I release its inner beast a thousand miles later? :cool:

·
Registered
134 Posts