Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
393 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've seen quite a bit of talk regarding the fitting of other brand shocks to the FZ/MT, but was there any that just slotted in with no modification and gave better results than the standard one? Also I don't really want to upset the bike by having standard suspension up front and something else on the rear, would it matter?

I'm not incapable of modding one (I'm an engineer) BUT I don't really like the idea of doing it, plugging holes and reboring them is not the safest way to do things and at the end of the day if it fails I could be killed.

Just for info, I scraped my Akra on a normal seemingly smooth road at the bottom of a hill doing around 50mph, just me on board and the rear shock was almost maxxed out on settings, so not really sure how it happened tbh but I think I better do something about it before I get hurt.

At this stage I'm not willing to spend out on after market suspension because A) I shouldnt have to on a new bike, and B) I'm in the middle of a house move so can't afford it.

·
Registered
393 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

·
Registered
165 Posts
You shouldn't have to, but you do because the OE shock is crap.

In the UK the Nitron Sport is the best spec for the money. Maxton produce a shock with a better spec for more cash. Both have the preload adjuster at the bottom end of the spring so it can be adjusted with it on the bike.

·
Registered
554 Posts
The zx6rr shock only need the existing hole on the clevis enlarged on one side. Could easily be dont with a vise and hand drill. I dont know of any that just bolt up directly but they may be out there. My bike was greatly improved with just the rear shock, but yes its even better now with the front springs.

·
Registered
128 Posts
Depending on your weight you should make a selection for the shock spring.