Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 81 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am going to buy either Street Triple R or FZ-09 this coming week and I need some help from you to decide which one to go for. I understand that this is a Yamaha forum so answers will be a bit biased, but I need your honest opinions. You guys have ridden the FZ-09 and you know both PROS and CONS of the bike.

I test rode STR this morning and loved it. I didn't find STR lacking any power, but I am a noob with little sports bike experience. It was very smooth, comfortable and compared to my Scrambler it felt like an advanced modren bike. Felt really light and, as I said eariler, I loved it. Unfortunately, Yamaha dealers don't do test rides, so I can't compare the two on my own.

A little bit about me. I have been riding for 3 years. My first bike was Honda Shadow 750. My second bike was Triumph Scrambler and STR or FZ09 will be my third bike (but 1st sports bike). I am 33 and overall a safe driver with no accidents on my record.

I am going to put pros of both bikes based on what I have researched online. Please give me your honest opinion and help a fellow rider:

STR
Pros:
  • Better Suspension
  • Better Brakes
  • Smooth Throttle Response
  • ABS
  • 2 Year Warranty
  • Current Triumph Incentive: Free Accessories (Fly Screen, Seat Cowl, and Belly Pan - $750 value)

Cons:
  • Less power than FZ
  • $2000 more expensive than FZ

FZ-09
Pros:
  • Bigger Engine (More torque through out the range)
  • Price ($2000 cheaper than STR).
  • Yamaha Reliability
  • Better Ergos (Upright riding position)

Cons:
  • Soft Suspension
  • Snatchy Throttle Response in A and Std modes (can be fixed by flashing ECU)
  • No ABS

What else am I missing here? I don't want to get a bike and regret the decision later. Thought? Recommendations?

Edit 1: Forgot to mention that I am 210 lbs (225 lbs with full gear) and 6 feet tall.