Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
202 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone had experience with both on the fz? Is the penske noticeably better? Or should i save 650 bucks and get the zx6rr shock?

·
Registered
1,556 Posts
I suspect that whether or not you can notice much difference depends on how hard you ride. There's no fixed answer for everyone. I have no experience with a zx6rr, but I have a Penske triple clicker and love it. If the FZ had come equipped with something as good as a zx6rr, I probably wouldn't have replaced it, but the OEM suspension was so bad I had to do something.

·
Registered
202 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I suspect that whether or not you can notice much difference depends on how hard you ride. There's no fixed answer for everyone. I have no experience with a zx6rr, but I have a Penske triple clicker and love it. If the FZ had come equipped with something as good as a zx6rr, I probably wouldn't have replaced it, but the OEM suspension was so bad I had to do something.
Thanks, I'll be doing a few track days here and there, but mostly canyon carving and the occasional wheelie. I think ill go with the zx6rr shock then, now to find a good one..

·
Registered
202 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I suppose I should add this to the question, how does the zx6rr shock compare to the zx10 shock? For a rider around 230 fully geared, which is going to work better for me?

·
Registered
1,644 Posts
The zx6rr has high speed compression adjustment whereas the zx10 does not. The zx6rr has a spring rate of 575lb/in whereas the zx10 has a spring rate of 540 lb/in (I believe).

Both will be an improvement but for your size you'd want the zx6rr. I'm the same weight as you geared up and I have a zx10 shock in my SV. It works well for commuting but when I push it in the twisties, it doesn't perform as well as the zx6rr...but it's still decent.

·
Registered
202 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·