Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
585 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have never used a paddock stand before - always had a centerstand, but I don't want to flog that dead horse :BangHead:

So i went over to Cycle gear and noticed thay had one on sale - right next to a highly rated Pit bull stand. They look similar in function, so I plumped for the cheapie rear stand, just for giggles. Took a while to find the spoolies and bought a pair of them. At least they will hold my bike cover on at work.

The cheapie stand comes with 2 types of support, a C shaped hook that is meant to push the spoolies up as close as possible to the swing arm, to reduce bending moment forces. It also has flat pads that are spring loaded and rotate in the stand as you push the bike up, with the pads under the rear axle on the swingarm frame.

Lets assume for the moment that either of these 2 devices work as advertised, then the question remains;
- How do you use this type of stand on your own? Both popping it up and rolling it down.
I had my son hold the bike upright, while I fed the stand in and rolled it up. When it was up, it did not feel very stable in the C hooks or on the flat pads - we tried both. It felt like it would roll forward very easily without a weight on the handle to hold it down.

Using this type of stand on your own would seem to be very risky - with regard to bike dropping - is there a trick to it, like getting a bike on a centerstand?

And now for the review of the cheapie stand:
The C hooks are designed wrong (or the spoolies are). They do not provide enough clearance between the top of the stand and the C shape. The result is the end of the spooly is the part that is actually raised - not the smaller diameter. This puts the bending load right at the outside end of the spooly. The worst spot.