Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Seems like I recall seeing a pic of the factory fork bumpstop next to an aftermarket version, probably in one of Nick Stoltech's threads. I am 220 w gear, and this is the travel used on a fairly mild street ride of 160 miles the other day (I'm a street noob). Looks to me like the fork travel was on, or very close to hitting the bumpstop. Top of the zip tie is 32mm from the bottom of the slider. Zip tie on the shock is backed up to the bumpstop. Fork preload is maxed, with rebound 1/4 turn from full. Shock is 1 notch from full preload, rebound 1/4 turn from full. I feel suspension is about as important as safety gear, as it can make the difference in keeping, or losing control in this high consequence activity. I'm currently researching options, and this site is my #1 resource. Thanks to all contributing here.
IMG_2931.jpg

·
Registered
1,806 Posts
nope, you've still got a bit of travel left. i've had my ziptie down to maybe 10-12mm above the bottom part of the fork.

some really hard braking should do it.

·
Registered
225 Posts
Nope you're not there yet. I don't have pics handy, but you can pause this clip to get an idea.

Reactions: Obijack

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks, Guys. Good to know there's something left there while I figure out what to do.

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·