Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

i just bought my very first bike, 2015 fz09 with 1200 kms on it (newbie here lols) i noticed that there’s a small oil drip. Do i have to be concerned about it? Picture attached.

thanks in advance!! Ride safe everyone!!

·
Registered
2016 xsr 900
962 Posts
Those are the fuel system vent hoses, if they are dripping it should be fuel, and indicates that you likely overfilled the tank, or maybe got a splash of fuel up around the fill hole

·
Registered
442 Posts

·
Registered
2,909 Posts
Those are the fuel system vent hoses, if they are dripping it should be fuel, and indicates that you likely overfilled the tank, or maybe got a splash of fuel up around the fill hole
And or you filled the tank and then parked it out in the sun the fuel expanded and dripped some out ..normal !

·
Registered
636 Posts
Five, possibly six years old and only 1200 km on it? Why is it so?
Interesting case. Very strange to have this most awesome bike just sit... Judging by the picture, the the stand looks mighty clean. ( seems legit ). LOL.

·
Registered
636 Posts
And or you filled the tank and then parked it out in the sun the fuel expanded and dripped some out ..normal !
This right here is the culprit. psyco and abe57 hit it on the money. I overfilled my tank once, when I parked it at home in the hot sun, gas expanded and it dripped from those vent hoses.

·
Registered
125 Posts
This right here is the culprit. psyco and abe57 hit it on the money. I overfilled my tank once, when I parked it at home in the hot sun, gas expanded and it dripped from those vent hoses.