Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I don't have a FZ-09 yet but I plan on getting one as soon as the weather gets a bit warmer. I went to our local stealership today and sat on and gawked over one and I am pretty certain I will be buying in the next couple months.

Anyway, my assumptions are that Yamaha recommends 91+ octane and that won't be an issue 90% of the time. My question though is if it would be alright to occasionally fill (no more than half a tank if much of an issue) up with 87 with 10% ethanol. I farm for a living and may occasionally fill half a tank or so out of our farm gasoline tank, then I could obviously fill the rest of the tank with 91 or the highest I find once I make it to a station.

Has anyone ran 87?

Thanks!

·
Registered
340 Posts
I think Yamaha opts for the high side of octane requirement. Same thing with their WR250r.
On the other hand my Suzuki V-Strom 650 with approx same compression ratio and bigger bore requires
but 87 octane.I know that they're are other timing factors,head designs ect.But C.R.and bore size are the biggies.

Bottom line:FZ-09 will probably run just fine under 99% of conditions on 87 octane.
Yamaha engineers get nervous and call for 91.
But who wants to take a chance? Kinda hard to hear detonation on a naked bike.

·
Registered
186 Posts
Filled mine up with 93. The light had blinked for a while. The costs was 10.41$ so why not? LoL

·
Registered
962 Posts
Filled mine up with 93. The light had blinked for a while. The costs was 10.41$ so why not? LoL