Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first big bike, other than my Ninja 300 i had on restricted license, so i am only new to this stuff, be gentle ;).
So when it comes to breaking it in, ive followed the dealers and manuals instructions, but as ive been browsing the forums, and seen the support for the hard break in method, im a little at a loss.
Ive only got 300 miles on the bike at the moment and recently changed the oil.
So basically my question is, where to go with the break in from here. Do i continue to follow manual instructions, or if i start to ride the bike harder will it do damage as it hasnt been ridden hard from the start?
Before you rip me apart, i have searched the forums for answers and cant find anything to help with my specific question.

·
Registered
1,555 Posts
The only advice I can give is:
Vary the RPMs within a reasonable range. (when the engine is new and super tight, there is concern for overheating at higher RPMs until the proper clearances have formed)
Change the oil if it looks dirty (opaque or cloudy).
YMMV... that's all I've got on the subject! ;)

·
Registered
246 Posts
Follow the instructions in the owners manual. I'm guessing the engineers who developed the motorcycle may have a better idea of what it takes to properly "break-in" the engine than anyone on this forum. Of course, you can take random advise from this column. Let us know how that works out for you.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The only advice I can give is:
Vary the RPMs within a reasonable range. (when the engine is new and super tight, there is concern for overheating at higher RPMs until the proper clearances have formed)
Change the oil if it looks dirty (opaque or cloudy).
YMMV... that's all I've got on the subject! ;)