Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm taking my long loop to New Hope (about 50 miles). Zipping along on roads I've been riding for 20+ years. Turn onto 8 mile road through forest that's very curvy and slightly hilly. Uh oh, the PennDOT pothole fixing truck has been here like yesterday. This truck has a snorkel which blows out the hole, sprays in tar and finishes with too much stone chips. So I slow way down and just cruise along. (25-30 mph) Come around blind downhill left and see "repair" in mid corner. Kept looking at it and went right off the edge of road. Dirt flies everywhere and the "tilt" switch shuts down engine. Assessment- I'm not broken anywhere, hand, arm and ribs will be sore. I always where leather gloves/jacket and they did their job. Stand up and pick up bike. MRA windshield cracked, handlebar slightly torqued, dirt wedged between front wheel and fender, and some slight scratches in clear coat of tankside. Thankfully my T-rex and Woodcraft goodies kept cosmetic damage to a minimum. Remember, look where you want to go!

·
Registered
39 Posts
Glad ur okay....

Mind posting a pic of the damage? I'm curious how the bike held up.

·
Registered
885 Posts
I'm not broken anywhere, hand, arm and ribs will be sore.
Heal well, and I'm pleased to read you are not seriously injured. Good gear... good equipment... good outcome overall under the circumstances.

·
Registered
1,555 Posts
Well that sucks, at least you both got away relatively unscathed. You wanted new bars anyway, right?

·
Registered
768 Posts
Remember the pilot's saying:
A good landing is one you walk away from.
A great landing is one where you can still use the aircraft.

Glad it turned out okay and you weren't seriously hurt!