Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently took the plunge and bought my first ever new motorcycle, and I'm glad I went with the FZ09. A little history before getting to the good stuff. I'm a 20+ year veteran of everything 2 wheeled and gas powered. Prior to acquiring the FZ I primarily rode my 07' ZX10R and 05' DRZ400SM, to this day I love them both, however each fall to one end or the other on the fast, fun, and comfortable spectrum. The 10R is simply stupid fast and a BLAST to ride, but kills my back after an hour and would have probably landed me in jail if it wasn't for the FZ. The DRZ is cool and lots of fun in it's own way, I can rail the twisties wide open then hit some parking lot jumps, followed up but some 5th gear wheelies, however it's still pretty much a dirt bike and it's a single 400.. Anything more than back road and parking lot hooliganism is beyond it's purpose. I've owned a wide array of bikes over the years, starting with my first street bike being a late 80's FZ600 (somewhat ironic I'd say). The most memorable bikes over the years have been the 03' GSXR1000's (had 2 in different stages) for its fast factor and somewhat up-right and comfortable riding position, the two Nighthawk 750's because they too were fast (relatively speaking), comfortable, and handled well, although grossly under-sprung. Beyond those I've owned a 01' GSXR1000, several Honda Shadow 750's (for my Dad to ride), an SV650, Triumph Speed 4, ZX636R, ZX6R, RD250, GSXR750, Virago 750 (don't judge me), RVT1000 RC51, and probably a few more that I've forgotten about. So, now that I've qualified my diverse history of motorcycle ownership, on to my FZ09.

After less than a week of ownership and nearly 300 miles as of this morning, here's my initial review of the FZ09:
A Mode = Pure Uncut CRACK!
Intake + Exhaust tone = better than a Mozart symphony (well, above 6500rpm).