Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

A little history, I have been riding dirtbikes for about 8 years (mostly trails, desert, and a few desert races), and got my first street bike exactly 1 year ago. I bought a 2003 SV650 with 1,100 miles on it. I have been riding that for the last year, commuting, canyon riding and a few track days (Button Willow and Chuckwalla) and put about 8,000 miles on it. Before I bought the bike I really wanted an FZ-09 but didn't want a brand new bike, or that much horsepower on my first street bike. I was comfortable pretty quickly on the SV, and now it is time for a new bike. So today I sold my SV650.

IMG_1959.jpg

Now I am looking to buy a Cadmium Yellow 2015 FZ-09. This will be my first new motorcycle or car purchase so any helpful tips on that process would be appreciated. I will be paying cash for the bike. I have seen some threads on what others have paid for this bike in the so cal area, so I think I have a good idea of what to expect price wise.

I have already signed up for a track day at Laguna Seca June 20th and am pretty excited to ride that track. My only concern is the suspension, based on all the reviews and opinions on the forum. That being said, I rode my SV at the track with completely stock suspension and felt that it was sufficient. It could have definitely been better, but was not dangerous. I would prefer to ride the bike stock, and get a feel for whether I need suspension or not myself (185lb rider). But seeing as the track day is just over a month away and there is a sale on penske shocks right now I am considering just ordering a double clicker to be sure I have it in time for the track (I would probably want this shock down the road anyways, and plan to keep this bike for quite a while.) In your opinion if I was content with the stock SV650 suspension, would I be okay on the stock FZ at the track?