Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
227 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A couple of months ago I started thinking about getting a two-stroke street bike. I started riding many moons ago on a new, '74 RD350 and racked up a lot of miles in the first fifteen months until a woman ran a red light and broadsided me as I was turning left on a green arrow. Totaled the bike- and didn't do me a whole lot of good either...

Anyway, I picked up my RD400 about five weeks ago, thanks to my friend Bill (in Oroville). An acquaintance of Bill's had one and I took a drive up there and picked it up with Bill's help. Not a pristine example, but unmolested and in decent, somewhat neglected, condition with a bit over 10k miles on it. Five weeks on and a lot of $ later I've replaced the petrified tires; chain/sprockets, shocks- it's a long list. It's not a show bike, but it should be reliable and it's a decent, 10 foot bike. Maybe 15... Unfortunately, the weather has turned cold and wet/snowy, so I have yet to really ride the bike. Looking forward to it as soon as the weather improves and the roads dry out. It will be fun!

Picture below is on my first ride after tracing down a bad miss under load (bad coil).

·
Registered
413 Posts
Glad you decided to leave original and not chop the tail, lower the handlebars or get one of those funky quilted seats. Not that I don't like some of those hipster builds, but when it comes to iconic bikes like the RDs, Z1s and H2s I like to see quality rebuilds.

Thanks for showing and would love to hear the twang of that 2 stroke.

·
Registered
227 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Glad you decided to leave original and not chop the tail, lower the handlebars or get one of those funky quilted seats. Not that I don't like some of those hipster builds, but when it comes to iconic bikes like the RDs, Z1s and H2s I like to see quality rebuilds.