Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I sheared a bolt flush with the case on the charging and water pump side. I have tried my traditional extractor, but the hard steel of the bolt included with the t-rex kit just ate the extractor threads. I have ordered left handed bits and a new harder set of extractors. If these don't work what are my options?

I am pretty technically competent, but this is my first time encountering a problem I can't solve.

Any advice or experience is welcome.

Thanks from a panicked compatriot. :mad:

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ouch! Is the bolt diameter 6mm? The small size seems like it will make it trickier. Did it happen tightening the bolt? Were you using a torque wrench?
It was a 6mm. I was using a torque wrench but it was a shitty clicker. I just ordered an ACDelco digital one. too little too late.

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Is it flush with the cover? Maybe remove the cover and weld the head back on the bolt then remove bolt and replace it.

Hope this helps.

Daniel.
Unfortunately its flush with the case not the cover. I already have the cover off and have drained the coolant and oil. Just tried my extractor kit but it failed miserably. I am at a loss right now, but I'm gonna let it sit till after work tomorrow. Gather some thought and ideas to attack it prepared this time.

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Sux, even if the torque wrench was a bit faulty I'd expect there would be enough safety margin. I wonder if the t-rex bolt was faulty, maybe too hard, brittle. Were you using torque specs from t-rex or Yamaha?
I am pretty sure I misread the wrench when I set it. I was using t-rex's spec but if I did what I think then it is totally on me. Just using shitty equipment and rushing mostly.

·
Premium Member
353 Posts