Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got the FZ-09 about a week ago, I have been riding motocross forever like 40 years. This bike is a blast and easy to ride felt at home right away, going to take it easy for awhile, looking for pointers thanks

·
Registered
511 Posts
Congratulations. Nice bike. Taking it easy is a good idea. Ive been riding street bikes for 30 years and the little f#[email protected] still gets away from me sometimes. Did a two vehicle pass the other day and almost ripped my arms off. Keep the rubber side down.

·
Super Moderator
5,762 Posts
Welcome to the forum and congrats on the new FZ. I don't know your weight, but if you are over say 170 lbs, and ride a fairly spirited pace, the first thing you are going to notice is that the stock suspension is not adequate. There is a bunch of info here about suspension mods but honestly, try and get the loaded sag set first and see if it will work for you at all. Myself and a bunch of the folks on here have used one of our supporting Vendors, Nick Stoten who owns Stol-Tec Moto for their suspension mods. Nick worked with Penske to develop three different Penske shocks for the FZ09 and has also worked with GP suspensions for the front end stuff. He also worked with Flash-Tune and has delevoped an ECU flash that smooths out the throttle quite nicely. The nice thing about going with the Flash-Tune method through Nick is that you can also have a proper fueling map done at the same time, if he has a map for the brand of exhaust that you put on the bike. Check out his threads in the Supporting Vendor section about his work.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks, I had my motocross bikes suspension done by factory connection but know nothing about this street stuff, but I am sure I will learn

·
Registered
1,413 Posts
Awesome man welcome. Rubber side down.

·
Registered
349 Posts