Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

I will be moving from Detroit, MI to Chandler/Gilbert AZ in early July. I have already sold my last bike (cbr 600) and intend on picking up a FZ when I get settled in down south.

I was hoping those of you in the metro Phoenix area could supply a bit of help and advice as I come closer to making this move. First thing is the heat. This winter I saw 100 inches of snow, -17F temps -36F windchills and more ice than you can probably imagine if you have spent your life in Arizona. With this in mind, I have no idea how to handle the heat when I get down there. Are there any must have items for riding or living when it gets past 100F? I have very little experience with triple digits and can only imagine how hot a seat would be after sitting in a parking lot at work all day. Is there a good technique to keep your bum from melting when getting on? Are evaporation cooling vests necessary? Are you laughing because I think 100 is ungodly hot?

What about dealers? Any quick suggestions on East valley dealers? I will probably derp through the big OTD thread, but OTD numbers don't show the customer experience at a dealer.

Last question I have is about lane splitting. I do my research, I know there was a bill that passed the legislative branch a couple years back to allow it on a trial basis. It got vetoed primarily for implementation reasons. But the fact that it got that far with glaring implementation issues has me thinking it probably isn't taken as seriously as it is in the mid-west. What are your observations on the practice of filtering in Maricopa?

Thanks for any answers guys. I look forward to riding or meeting with some of you, riding to the grand canyon (route 89 looks like fun), and getting in-n-out burgers.

·
Registered
3,008 Posts
If you are sure you want an 09 you might put a deposit down on one in AZ before you move, in case the supply is tight.

·