Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, first time posting here.

I've been riding for over 20 years. Dirtbikes as a kid, and then a Suzuki Savage 650 when I lived in the suburbs. I've been living in NYC and riding a Stella scooter for almost four years. It's manual shift (clutch + handle twists, classic vespa), 125cc, 10hp.

Needless to say it's a slow ride. It handles like crap, vibrates everywhere and because of the low torque and speed I have to have a bug-eyed focus whenever I am riding in town. Riding at 52mph on the West Side Drive on a tiny ass scoot is exhilarating but insane. I'm ready to move to something with more power, and also something I can take on 50-100mi rides upstate.

My question is, has anyone gone from a relatively slow ride to the FZ-09, and if so how big of a change was it? Also would love to hear from fellow city riders on how it handles in traffic/low speed.

Thank you!

·
Registered
1,202 Posts
Well, I haven't ridden anything in like 5yrs...and like you, I live in the urban jungle. You'll like the FZ, great for the city, agile and quick.

It's not too much for an experienced operator...to be honest, I only use B mode in town. It's just awesome though...turns on a dime, soaks up pot holes, blast by the cars stopped in the road leaving traffic in your dust...loft the front wheel at will....it's just great

·
Registered
663 Posts
The difference. Night and Day. My progression went 125cc, 360cc, 750cc, and to be determined....

·
Super Moderator
5,762 Posts
This type of scenario has been discussed here on several occasions and it would probably behoove you to do a search back through some of those threads and read some of the comments in them. In a nutshell, some will tell you go ahead and do it, some will say absolutely no way to make a jump like that. Personally, I am in the latter group that would suggest that there is no way you should make a jump like you are talking about.

·