Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1,081 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone,

I'm coming up on 3k miles and the rear tire is past middle age so I'm going to order a rear tire. I cannot decide between the PR and the PP.

Wet handling isn't too important since I live in SoCal, but it's still important. I do want the tire to be long lived and cornering is important to me. I think I could go either way and not go wrong.

From what I can tell....unless you are planning on going on the track or really pushing the limits of the bike then the PRs will work great and last longer and be a better all around tire. As an experienced novice I feel that I will not be able to fully utilize the PPs and that the longer life of the PRs will be the most important factor.

Thoughts?

Zach

·
Super Moderator
5,762 Posts
Zach,

The bottom line is going to be what type of use you are going to primarily have for the tires. The Pilot Roads will definitely give you more mileage as the center of the tire is a harder compound and made to last under "road miles" type riding. The edges of the tires are made of a softer compound for corner grip and will provide decent stick in the corners. The Pilot Road is a great tire in the wet and instill a lot of confidence when riding in the rain.