Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

If you were given a free motorcycle

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I was planning on buying the XSR900, Street twin, or the Ducati Scrambler. I can't seem to pull the trigger in buying a ducati scrambler since a lot of people keeps saying their reliability as a brand (ducati) is somewhat of a concern.

I was all set in getting the new scrambler till I saw someone say the 2nd service maintenance cost of Ducati scrambler was $1000+?!?! which is pretty darn expensive.
Has anybody ever paid that much in having their XSR900 serviced? How many miles does an XSR900 have before the service maintenance. I know that Yamaha as a brand is arguably the most reliable brand of motorcycle but has anyone ever experienced a major problem with the XSR900?

Sorry, I'm a bit new to bikes. And if anyone knows the service miles and cost for maintaining the street twin, feel free to comment and let me know.
Thanks guys, cheers.

·
Registered
129 Posts
Welcome to the forum. You are looking at 3 very nice bikes. From a first bike standpoint, I would discourage the XSR because it can be a handful of a bike for a new rider. I wrench on my own bikes so the maintenance isn't an issue, although I don't think I'd want to set the Ducati's valvetrain.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Welcome to the forum. You are looking at 3 very nice bikes. From a first bike standpoint, I would discourage the XSR because it can be a handful of a bike for a new rider. I wrench on my own bikes so the maintenance isn't an issue, although I don't think I'd want to set the Ducati's valvetrain.
Yea, I was looking for a city bike and sitting on the XSR900 felt heavy and tall, I'm on my toes when sitting on it.

·
Registered
555 Posts