Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello FZ09 fans!
I just pulled the trigger on a Liquid Graphite today. I signed up on the forum a couple months back when I started getting interested in the FZ. I live in Soldotna Alaska and I purchased the bike from Anchorage Yamaha via email! Ain't the Web great? I've been riding an FJR1300 for 10 years with my wife on the back about half the time. Wonderful bike for what is was designed for. I have recently reached the mature age of 62 and my knees don't care for maneuvering the FJR around my shop or parking lots with the wife on the back (even a petite 105 lbs). The FJR has monster power and handles well, but I want something I can toss around at speed and not need a crane to get on the center stand.
I basically had to decide between the FZ and the new Ducati 1200S. I almost went for the Duc which is an absolutely gorgeous bike (IMHO), but the difference in price and the cost of maintaining the Duc made up my mind. Kinda of like marrying a super model.
I am a gas turbine and rotating equipment mechanic and I love modifying and up grading metal things. I can't wait to get started on the FZ. I'm getting jazzed seeing how many products are appearing for this bike! I"ve really enjoyed reading the posts and hopefully I'll be contributing soon.
It is not quite riding weather here yet, but will be soon, I've already seen a few of the die hard Harley bagger guys on the road. My wife and I are off to Hawaii tomorrow, so I will pick my FZ up when I get back.
Looking forward to getting to know the FZ Forum folks.

JB

·
Registered
1,555 Posts
Congrats on snagging an 09. :) Cost of ownership is always an important factor... plus parts availability.

·
Registered
663 Posts
Hello FZ09 fans!