Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
1,081 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, so when i release my clutch in neutral while idling it makes an amazingly loud racket. I got the bike 5 days ago and i have about 250 miles on it. Is this normal? Everything works great and i am still breaking it in as the manual recommends. I will definitely mention it when i get my oil changed.

any ideas? Thanks

·
Registered
1,081 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I hope so, I'm still learning about bikes and their components. My FZ6R didnt have that noise so i was a little concerned.

·
Registered
1,081 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
As long as I'm not the only one and everybody is experiencing something similar I'm not as worried.

·
Registered
2,155 Posts
Check the oil level. New bikes burn a bit of oil until the rings break in. Also....good idea to change the oil with 250 miles on a new bike. When I buy one brand new...I ride it 100 miles and change the oil to get rid of small metal shavings and dirt.

Reactions: Willowbilly

·
Registered
1,081 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
The oil is very cloudy, so i am going to change it this weekend and switch it to synthetic. Hopefully it helps with the clutch noise in neutral. I don't have high hopes since it seems that a loud clutch in neutral is normalish.

Out of curiousity, for my first oil change should i change the filter? Or should i wait till about 1000miles to change the filter?

Thanks

Zach

·
Registered
1,555 Posts
Out of curiousity, for my first oil change should i change the filter? Or should i wait till about 1000miles to change the filter?

Thanks

Zach
Change the filter too, all the stuff it's collecting will slow the flow thru the filter, so it needs to go... plus it'll make you feel better knowing you're doing all you can to protect your new engine. :)

·
Registered
1,081 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Oil change to fix clutch noise