Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just started riding so I'm in the process of getting all the gear I need. Right now I'm looking at jackets with proper protection. I am riding with leathers that I have in the mean time..

I have noticed a huge difference in wind noise with different style jackets. My leather with a traditional collar is what I started riding with, so that is my baseline.. Then I pulled out my nascar team jacket with a collar similar to most sport bike jackets. The wind noise with this jacket is insane, it's like it funnels air into the bottom of my helmet.. The only way to quite it, is to hunch my shoulders.
Is this common with low collared jackets? Is it because my neck and the bottom of the helmet are exposed? Or am I just crazy?..
I'd hate to spend 500 on a jacket and then hate wearing it..

·
Registered
1,628 Posts
This is really interesting. I've never really noticed (or given it thought) a noise difference but I have noticed that different jackets can channel the air up my helmet and at higher speeds start pushing the helmet up. I'll have to pay more attention to this as riding season continues and see if I can make any valid correlation.

·
Registered
3,842 Posts
is your head position consistent? Do the jackets fit similarly? If the jackets fit differently, it may be changing your body and head position, thus creating different wind noise experiences for you...that's a total guess though.

I have an astars jaws leather jacket - it's great but i get some serious buffeting in my helmet - i think this is mainly due to the aerodynamics of my helmet though (HJC RPS10) which is meant more for a 3/4 position than upright.

·
Super Moderator
5,762 Posts
I know this doesn't necessarily relate to jacket types, but wearing custom molded ear plugs while riding pretty much negates any wind noise that you are going to encounter.

Reactions: motomania

·
Registered
1,370 Posts