1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
EXPERIENCE: 52 y.o.

- 5 years trail rider - low intermediate
- 6 months at mx track weekly - total noob working on dirt skills
- Day slab on WR250R 1/mo. last 5 yrs. Mostly sight seeing rides on rural county roads.
- Rented Harley 2X for weeklong trips.

STYLE: I'm not a hooligan rider. I don't lean into turns much. Not interested in doing so. Mostly sight seeing with the occasional 0-80 rip as fast as the bike will go (usually after a couple of beers at lunch):D

PLAN: Replace trusty but underpowered WR250R with real street bike.

Wide open at the moment. Looking for a day tripper - likely once a week - with enough juice to turn me on but not get me killed due lack of experience. Sport bikes and cruisers don't stir my soul.

CURRENTLY ON TABLE: Triumph 800, FZ-09, V-Strom 650, Kawi Versys. Leaning in that order.

THOUGHTS: Gut right now tells me the V-Strom and Versys, while perfect for my needs, are just too practical. Yami maybe too much power for my level. That puts Triumph in the lead.

Any thoughts are greatly appreciated. Especially Triumph vs. Yami powerbands for my experience level. Thanks.

·
Registered
3,842 Posts
V-strom is a great bike but very tall seat height - not sure how tall you are but 6"+ or maybe slightly shorter and you'd likely be ok. It sure if you're looking for more of a touring bike? Look into an SV650n (all s have clip ons and likely not as comfortable for whst you want) or ninja 650 or fz6. All have upright riding positions.

You'll see the sv650 recommended a lot. It's a great first "real" bike. A fun step up from a 250 without scaring the shit out of yourself.

The fz is another step up from SV IMO.

Whether you want to skip that step is your own personal choice. No one here can make that decision for you.

Good luck!

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Beck, thanks for the advice on the SV650.