Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Should have probably done this already but I've been just enjoying combing through the site. I'm new to the FZ09 phenomenon and to be honest it sorta happened by accident (that's what I keep telling my wife anyway) :rolleyes:

My current stable included the following: 1971 Honda CL125 pretty much stock; 1976 Honda CB550f completely restored and mildly café modded; and a 2000 Triumph Tiger 885i heavily farkled for travel. So suffice to say I wasn't lean on toys by any means. Neither was I looking for the next toy. To be honest I was completely happy with what I had.

The problem was, about a month ago I got an invite from my boss one Saturday morning, "Hey Chris, what are you doing today" Me: "I've got yard work to do ... why we going riding" ........

I'm on the east side of the state and he's on the west so I jumped on the 76 Honda and we met in southern IL. Only problem, the reason he wanted to meet is because he had just taken delivery on a new orange FZ09. He was originally looking at Tigers because of mine but this caught his attention. I was familiar with this little gem already because I'm a triple guy and always wanted a Speed Triple just couldn't really justify it.

So he let's me put about 100 miles on it after we have lunch. Of course I knew what to expect you know ... since I already own a triple and .... wait .... .HOLY $%@%$%$%!!!!!!!!!

I'm telling you (and told him for about a half hour later), I've ridden and owned countless cycles, Vtwins, parallel twins, inline triples, fours, singles, cruisers, sport bikes, etc. etc. ..... I have NEVER ridden anything like the FZ. It fit me perfect, it was really REALLY light, it was comfortable, it was .... good GAWD it was fast EVERYWHERE on the power band!!!!!!