Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone. I'm looking for some reviews/input etc on a FZ-09. I've been riding for a few years. started on a CB350 then to a XS650 (kinda bobbed/bratted out) and a sportster. I bounce back and forth between my xs650 and sportster. I commute in Los Angeles daily and most of my work commute is lane splitting (from the east side to the west side if you're familiar). My sportster is not ideal for this for a variety of reasons. The xs does a decent job but again its not the best. I met someone last weekend with a FZ-09, I think its decent looking, and after reading some reviews seems to give you a decent amount of bang for the buck. I think this would also help me grow as a rider. Im not exactly able to take my sportster up into the mountains and push it to hard. she likes the open desert roads but is a little like a turd when Im up in the mountains. Another option I'm considering is a supermoto. Looking for some input / advice etc...

My paint points.
-How easy is it to work on these? coming from mostly vintage bikes I like being able to work on my own bikes.
-Price
-Mods
-I've never paid more than 3,400 for a bike and considering they get knocked over by people I'm definitely concerned about this. Add that to the fact that I want to start getting into a different more aggressive type of riding dropping this or laying it down is also a concern.

Thanks
Luke~

·
Registered
2,330 Posts
The FZ09 is a great bike and will likely do well for you.