Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,253 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today was my longest ever day riding (I'm pretty new to this). My bike now has 440 miles. We went 90 miles and of those miles, about 25 were on a highway. I have never been on a highway on a bike. We also went through some pretty twisty areas, going uphill and downhill. That was new too. The craziest thing we did today was make a left hand turn from a stop up a really steep hill that was also slanted sideways. (I'm sure there's a name for that!) During that turn, I was silently hoping that I would not have something bad happen. It went fine. Whoo hoo.

Here's what I learned today:

(1) Going on a highway is nothing to worry about. The bike is meant to go straight and is stable at highway speeds. We hit 69 mph. That's a record for me. Today was a bunch of firsts.
(2) Going uphill and downhill on twisties in an area that you have never been is nerve wracking to a new rider. I know that you guys love "twisties" and dream about roads like this, but it never occurred to me that there are downhill and up hill twisties. I always pictured them as kind of flat. We went up and down a mountain with crazy curves. It makes sense that they would go uphill and downhill, but in my mind, when picturing bikes riding, I never played out this scenario.
(3) Even if you have a minimum of an idea what you are doing, with information stored from reading books, if you are put in the situation, oh well, you have no choice, so you had better just go with it.
(4) This bike is great. It's starting to feel like my favorite pair of jeans.