Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
354 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had some things for sale on the yamaha star striker forum and Eric read my post that i will be switching and today he is scheduled for a test ride on an FZ-09 he does not really know anything about the bike accept he likes what he has seen. He is going to take certain pix for me and give me his review. So i might have dragged him over to the dark side.

·
Registered
354 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I mentioned in my first post about Eric going to test ride the FZ-09 and i copied and pasted his words below.

I freaking love this bike and very impressed. Simply put it’s just wickedly fast. I actually got the front wheel of the ground 2x on this bike during our 25 minute demo ride and I have no wheelie experience as the Stryker was my first bike. This bike created a few pucker moments for me. We had a lot of opportunities to get launches from stops signs in an area full of orchards (read no cops or traffic) and I basically was holding on for dear life. On one of the runs I where the wheel got off the ground I was shifting from 1st to 2nd (at 63mph) and when I rapidly shift and hit the throttle up it came. The motor seems like it is limitless in its revs. There are three driving modes on this bike STD , A and B. The bike starts in STD, then you press the mode button to cycle through the modes. I could not really tell much difference between STD and A, but on a short ride, you are trying to get a feel for the bike, watching for traffic, plus the riders in front and behind you all while trying out the buttons and finding them between head checks. So I did not spend a lot of time in STD and A mode. All I know is B mode should have name something more appropriately like HOLD ON! Push than button with a closed throttle (or pulled-in clutch), watch A turn to B and cracked the throttle and this bike goes ballistic. In B mode the throttle gets twitchy in normal riding conditions. It was k