Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello guys!
How do you clean your bikes?
I have been riding (and owning) a bike for under six months.

Yesterday I went for a ride in the FZ-09, and went under the rain.
I kept on riding, as I am not made out of paper.

All good... arrived home safe!
Yet the bike was ridiculuously dirty!!

Cleaned her up the best I could with car wash liquid, a sponge, and a toothbrush.
Yet there are still areas that are dirty.

I ask this basic question of "how to clean the bike" because none of my friends ride, and I don't have the experience to know "how to" clean the bike.

I figure wash her with the car wash liquid... and scrub down there with the brush.
Any special tools you guys have found?
Should I lube my chain afterwards?
The rear wheel had specs of grease/oil that got flung from the chain (I am still under 100 miles on her!).

Any tips, or links much appreciated!!

EDIT: Going to post pics when I get home... phone isn't cooperating with us!

·
Registered
133 Posts
Do you know Pledge? This is a spray to clean and protect furniture.
That is what I use. Spray it on a cloth and apply. After you treated the whole bike, take a clean cloth and rub it out. It shines and dirt has less grip on it. Don't use it on your discs!!
When you take a sticker of anything. Put Pledge on it, let it soak for half an hour and the glue is gone.
It even clean's the rear wheel.

O I forgot to tell that I start with making the bike wet with a hose.
Wash it with hot water and an common cleaner. Hose it of again and blow it dry with a compressor.

·
Registered
1,242 Posts
For washing, I have a couple of these. Makes cleaning in/around all of the nooks and crannies easier.

In my experience, the best thing for cleaning rims is WD-40

It wouldn't hurt to lube the chain.

·
Registered
1,081 Posts