Yamaha FZ-09 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello fellow members,

I'm pretty sure some of you had already gone through tire purchase, I'm in need of a tire; the rear one to be exact.
So like the thread title, what's your best tire of choice.

I'm mostly commuting and A bit of Canyon riding so what's the best tire I should buy? Should I get the stock tire again or Q3 or what is the best choice for the type of riding that I do.
Dora's different pattern tire mess with the bikes handling? I'm not an expert and that's why I'm asking the vets here on what kind of tire should I be getting?

The is in advance and ride safe everyone

·
Registered
4,616 Posts
There seem to be a lot of personal preference choices made by fellow bloggers, but the majority of what I've read on here were running Michelin Pilot Road 4. Sounds like they're great performers getting very high miles before wearing out.

Do not replace with original stock tires. Most owners have a pretty low opinion of them.

·
Registered
657 Posts
It is not generally recommended to run mis-matched tires. If you are looking to change tire models/brands, it's better to replace both front and rear.

As for tire selection, there's many, many options and opinions. For a commuter/occasional canyon slayer, I'd recommend a tire with dual compounds. Better milage for the commute, and better grip for the canyons. Again, everyone will have a differing opinion on tires.

Reactions: stuarth

·
Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I still have a lot of thread left n the front and I don't feel like throwing money just to have matching tires, the rear tire is loosing air and it doesn't have lots of thread left. What should I do?

·
Registered
3,842 Posts
If still replace both. Saving a few hundred is not worth potentially risking your life.

·
Registered
883 Posts